Honorary Fellowship of the ASLH: Diane Kirkby and John McLaren

Recently two of our members, Diane Kirkby and John McLaren, were made Honorary Fellows of the American Society for Legal History. This is a significant honour. Diane is only the second Australasian recipient. Three people are honoured each year and it was fabulous to have both Diane and John recognised in the same year (the third was Dirk Hartog!). Amanda Nettlebeck, Alecia Simmonds and myself (Shaunnagh Dorsett) were incredibly fortunate to be there for the awards ceremony. The photo (courtesy of Amanda) is (from left to right): Constance Backhouse, Shaunnagh Dorsett, Diane Kirkby, John McLaren and Mike Grossberg (the outgoing president of the ASLH). Diane group

About anzlhswebsite

The Australian and New Zealand Law and History Society was formed in 1993. It is an interdisciplinary group of scholars who share an interest in the connections between law and history. The society grew out of the annual Law in History Conferences, which have been running since 1982. Members of the society include historians, lawyers, academics and others interested in the area. Most of the members live in Australia or New Zealand, but their areas of interest are not confined to the law in those places. The society is an incorporated association in New South Wales. Inc no. 1600224
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s