The Australian and New Zealand Law and History Society was formed in 1993. The society grew out of the annual Law in History Conferences, which have been running since 1982. 

It is an interdisciplinary group of scholars who share an interest in the connections between law and history. Members of the society include historians, lawyers, academics and others interested in the area.  Most of the members live in Australia or New Zealand, but their areas of interest are not confined to the law in those places.

The society is an incorporated association in New South Wales. Inc no. 1600224

The current Executive is:

  • President: Prue Vines (UNSW) p.vines@unsw.edu.au
  • Vice-President: Isabella Alexander (UTS) isabella.alexander@uts.edu.au
  • Secretary: Katherine Sanders (UAuck) k.saunders@auckland.ac.nz
  • Treasurer (Australia): Henry Kha (MacqU) henry.kha@mq.edu.au
  • Treasurer (New Zealand): Warren Swain (UAuck) w.swain@auckland.ac.nz
  • Editorslaw&history: Lisa Featherstone (UQ) l.featherstone@uq.edu.au and Sue Milne (UniSA) sue.milne@unisa.edu.au
  • Editor-in-Chief law&history: Diane Kirkby (UTS) diane.kirkby@uts.edu.au
  • Website Manager: Alana Piper (UTS) alana.piper@uts.edu.au
  • ECR Representative: Inma Conde (MacqU) inmacumbreraconde@gmail.com
  • Advisory Committee: 
    • Amanda Nettelbeck (UAdel) amanda.nettelbeck@adelaide.edu.au
    • Sarah Wilson (York) s.wilson@york.ac.uk
    • Pamela O’Neill (Aus Sch Celtic Learnin) pamaladh@gmail.com
  • Immediate Past President: Libby Connors (USQ) libby.connors@usq.edu.au


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s